Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is there artillery in Megamek?
Hello,

Newbie here.  I was just wondering if Megamek handles artillery units such as the Long Tom artilelry unit; either on the board or off board?

Thanks

Artillery units are all in there, look under Advanced Units. I believe they should work both on and off map (though I've personally only used them on-map).
Correct me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that until the Long Tom carrier and ammunition trailer (or vice versus) is programmed into MegaMek, the Long Tom vehicle will not work because it has no ammo. However, all the other artillery like the Thumper work just fine for on board. I've never tried off board because I figure if MegaMek can handle that many maps, why not just put them on board. Who knows, maybe a quick VTOL flight will decide to try and harass them.
Let me know if I am wrong about the Long Tom.  Tongue
You're correct, the Mobile Long Tom is broken. Though I believe I talked DarkISI into adding a custom variant (not the ridiculous one that had been in there before) to hold everyone over until trailers are properly coded into the game. I don't think that'll be available until the next version.

However, the artillery guns *are* in there so you can always create a custom unit with them as is.
Off-map works like a charm, too. Artillery rocks, unless you´re on the receiving end.

I haven´t tried the stock Long Tom; I built myself a custom variant that has ammo (took out the MGs and their ammo)).

@NadineZook:

For starting out, it helps to at first limit yourself to Mechs only, preferably to the Introductory Boxed Set models. Those have relatively limited option; once you´re comfortable with those you can expand into Non-Boxed Set TW and Clan TW, and from there to vehicles, battle armor, VTOL and infantry.

BTW, I didn´t know that "poo poo" was such a versatile term. Did someone introduce Omni technology into the English language while I wasn´t looking? ;D