Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Air Mobile Artillery
Using the infantry artillery units, is there a way to make them air mobile using a VTOL?  I didn't see one with the carrying capacity to do so, but didn't know if there was something else I was missing.
I am no expert on MegaMek but I have used Battle Armor and Infantry with VTOLS. I would suggest the Cobra Transport you will have to uncheck the canon units for the Cobra Transport model to show up. It can if I recall correctly carry about 10 tons of troops. I usually attach two BA units to one Cobra VTOL. But be careful when approaching enemies they have tendency to get shot down easily. But than again look at all the helicopters the United States lost during Vietnam using Air Asslt tactics.
I hope that helps.

Thanks

robbybarbera
I believe the only restriction is tonnage, so its pretty much a matter of finding one big enough.
Yeah the tonnage is the thing. At least none of the units in MM have 44 or 49 tons of troop space.  Might need a custom unit to do that.
Combat VTOLs only go to 30 tons, so thats not going to happen. The only thing that I can think might work would be a support WiGe like the Koi in TRO:VA, but I am not even sure that capability is coded into MM yet.
If you could find a readout for it, I'd actually suggest using a King Karnov. Think Karnov-UR, but bigger and looking like a C-130.
(07-13-2011, 10:21 AM)Taharqa link Wrote: Combat VTOLs only go to 30 tons, so thats not going to happen. The only thing that I can think might work would be a support WiGe like the Koi in TRO:VA, but I am not even sure that capability is coded into MM yet.