Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to use sample campaign (co-op vs AI)
Hi all. Newbie here. 
So I've played MegaMek off an on over the years, but have never tried the campaign mode in MekHQ. I watched a couple of "MekHQ: Against the Bot" videos on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPGvjkcE8U4) and wanted to give this a try by jumping in with both feet. 

I want to play a co-op Against the Bot campaign with my nephew. We tried to get it working last night, we decided to use the "The Fox's Teeth" sample campaign. There was some starting mission on Thestria that we tried to play, but AI units never showed up to join the fun. 

1. How does one play the sample campaign against the AI?
2. Does the AI come up with it's own force structure etc or were we supposed to just come up with our own missions?
3. Are we supposed to come up with our own initial spare parts, finances, etc in the game or do those get applied by the campaign somehow.
4. I saw a random face pack in the YouTube video for new Mechwarriors. How do I get that?

Anyway, I managed to eventually add in some AI units on a different team in to that Thestria battle. But it wasn't according to the story line or anything.
We had a crazy fun fight on a random map in a slot canyon with cliffs 13 hexes high. We had to really think tactically to pull out the win against that Princess bot. 

After the battle, nothing was getting repaired on anything and MekHQ kept asking for a 'Mech Mortar part to repair stuff... whatever that is. 
In short, there are so many options, and I don't know what I'm doing. I feel like I'm missing some kind of settings or something. Would like to know how to play the campaign but don't know how to start that.