Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Planets and Skills
#1
Forgive me if there is something already here on this, and please point me to it via a link, but I have a couple of questions. I read through most of the topics that I THOUGHT might be related to my questions, but not really what I was looking for. So here goes

#1 - Can you 'pre-set' forces on Planets? Example of what I mean, I am playing through a campaign to get the feel of MekHQ down so that I understand how things work and tie into one another. I am a merc unit started on Outreach. I travel to say Aldebaran. Thanx to (another thread) there is info on the planet as to ownership and type of planet, etc... Can I preload units there to fight against once I land there? Also, when I add the bot to 'fight against', how would I make it randomly select those units already on planet? Enough for several battles and also allow the 'home unit' salvage when he wins a scenario? If this is a yes, how do i go about it? Oh yeah, if I actually defeat all unis on planet, how do I then change ownership of that planet to either me or my employer?

#2 - Are personnel automatically promoted to their next level when the gain enough XP? Say a pilot is 'green' or 'ultra green', after they get so many kills or survive so many scenarios and gain XP in the process, will they go to 'regular' or 'green' and so on? Same for Mech Techs and mechanics, after so many repairs and 12's rolled, do they get promoted?

Thanx
Reply
#2
1. There's nothing currently in MHQ to deal with tracking opposing forces. I know Taharqa was planning to add a 'campaign mode' that would help randomly generate OpFor units, missions types, maps, etc (not sure if he was planning to tie that into the planetary data at all though) but that was pretty far down the road and he hasn't been around much in recent months. So I wouldn't hold your breath for that to be added any time too soon.

2. When you right click on someone there is an option to Spend XP. At which point you can choose which skill to improve, or buy new skills entirely or buy advantages. It does not do anything automatically for them.
Reply
#3
(08-20-2012, 02:51 PM)Jayof9s link Wrote: 1. There's nothing currently in MHQ to deal with tracking opposing forces. I know Taharqa was planning to add a 'campaign mode' that would help randomly generate OpFor units, missions types, maps, etc (not sure if he was planning to tie that into the planetary data at all though) but that was pretty far down the road and he hasn't been around much in recent months. So I wouldn't hold your breath for that to be added any time too soon.

2. When you right click on someone there is an option to Spend XP. At which point you can choose which skill to improve, or buy new skills entirely or buy advantages. It does not do anything automatically for them.

1. I just thought that would be pretty cool to have forces 'on planet' as you take a contract/mission/scenario whereas you wouldnt know what was there until you started the battle (solitaire). I still think it would be, lol. If I knew how do to Java...

2. No automatic. OK, thats cool. I just went thru my personnel and added portraits (thanx to whomever put them in there) and gave them ranks and looked at their XP to what I could do to 'spend' some of it and began tos ee how it works. Again this is very cool. The auto promotion would be cool, then you could still manually assign specialties like missile specialist, laser specialist whatever.

I really appreciate all the work that has been put into this (MegaMek and MekHQ). I have enjoyed playing so far. Some of the items, options, buttons are not 'self-explanatory' to me, so lots of trial and error. thanx for patience with some of my questions.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Splitting a unit to different planets kylearn 2 492 09-02-2017, 03:22 AM
Last Post: kylearn
  Standard Skills Instead of Random Longshot 1 422 02-14-2017, 04:48 AM
Last Post: pheonixstorm
  Pilot skills not forwarding Immelmann 1 629 04-19-2015, 07:24 PM
Last Post: Immelmann
  Adding Planets pheonixstorm 2 827 12-30-2013, 04:34 PM
Last Post: pheonixstorm
  Default Skills Question Davout73 3 1,053 11-29-2013, 04:49 PM
Last Post: Jayof9s
  changing the way skills are listed mchapman1970 5 1,283 11-25-2013, 08:33 PM
Last Post: Jayof9s
  Planets in planets.xml Akira213 4 1,677 12-18-2012, 05:00 PM
Last Post: Akira213
  Experience Tab/ Skills Tab - Need table Explanation/Clarification moordoom 1 1,689 02-27-2012, 05:17 PM
Last Post: Jayof9s
  planets.xml Goto 2 1,655 02-20-2012, 04:29 PM
Last Post: Jayof9s
  Where to change starting Hire skills? AzDraon 2 1,322 12-19-2011, 11:26 PM
Last Post: T.S. Hawk

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)